Key Points

The National Talent Search Examination is conducted for students studying in Class X to identify the brightest minds.

1. The examination is conducted every year at two levels: Stage I (which is state level) and those who qualify appear for Stage II (which is national level).

2. Qualifying Marks for general category is 40% and for reserved category is 35%

Exam Pattern

Stage I Exam Pattern: Comprise of two part, (a) Mental Ability Test (MAT) and (b) Scholastic Aptitude Test (SAT)

Stage II Exam Pattern:

Paper Subject Questions Marks Minutes
Paper 1 Mental Ability Test (MAT) 50 50 45
Paper 2 Language Test (LT) English/HIndi 50 50 45
Paper 3 Scholastic Aptitude Test (SAT) 100 100 90

There is negative marking applicable for Stage II, for every wrong answer, one-third marks are deducted


All students of Class X studying in recognised schools are eligible to appear for Stage I examination.

Students under Open Distance Learning (ODL) are also eligible provided the student is below the age of 18 years, not employed and the student must be appearing for Class X for the first time.


Every year around 1000 scholarships are awarded for different stages of education:

Education Scholarship (INR)
Class XI and XII 1,250
Undergraduates and Post-graduates 2,000
PhD. Fixed with UGC norms

Reservation - SC (15%), ST (7.5%) and Physically Challenged (3%)

Relevant links: